My Year in Books – 2016

I had no blog in 2016 but I thought sharing this with you would be a good idea for you to see what I read in 2016, or some statistics about it. Also, I loved this idea when I saw it on goodreads. All of the images and statistics are taken from their website.

Shortest/longest book of 2016:

23301805I read 0 books in 2015 (the year of THE slump) so I wanted my first book of 2016 to be short yet aproachable, to be easy yet interesting to read. We Should All Be Feminists was recommended to me and I was so happy to be able to read and understand it.

17675462We Should All Be Feminists has 48 pages, and is the written edition of a TEDx talk that the author, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie did in 2014. The Raven Boys has 464, which compared to other books, especially given that this is my longest book) isn’t a lot, but I don’t care about that. I was pleasantly surprised by it and loved it.

Most/least popular book of 2016:

17118893I’ve tried reading some John Green novels before but I always dropped them halfway through because I was bored and did not care about any of the characters, but I’ve always wanted to read The Fault in Our Stars so I finally gave it a chance and for the first time (in foreveeeeeer 🎵) I finsih one of his books. I gave it 5 stars at the time and it may not be perfect (it was predictable, yet enjoyable), I liked it a lot, and even more when I think about John’s other books. TFiOS has 3150031 reads on goodreads as of today.

18513590I always try not to include comic books in my goodreads challenge, but once I complete it, I become a bit careless and some of them make it to the challenge. I don’t bother taking them off if my challenge is complete and some books may be erased from the challenge if I do rereads in the future so I let them be. I actually enjoyed Kick-Ass 3 and was sad to see the series ending but I wonder what my least popular book would be if I didn’t include comic books. It has 1472 reads on goodreads.

Highest rating on goodreads27276318

This was my first Colleen Hoover book!! *happy dance* Well, I’ve read Never, Never, which she co-wrote with Tarryn Fisher, but this is the first book written only by her. And I loved it. So happy with my first Colleen Hoover book; I need to read more. As of today, It Ends With Us has a rating of 4,46 on goodreads.

More statistics (I like this)

First and last book of 2016:

Series started in 2016:

  • The Iron Trial
  • Shatter Me
  • The Winner’s Curse
  • Throne of Glass
  • The Raven Boys
  • The Lightning Thief
  • Nightshade
  • To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before
  • Poison Study
  • Paper Princess

Series finished in 2016:

  • If I Stay
  • Never Never
  • The Hundred* originally a trilogy but later the author announced it would be 4 books. I’m including it because I’ve read 2 of those books in 2016

And you, what have you read? What are your statistics? Would you like to see more? Do you think you’ll do better in 2017? What are your predictions?

Leave a Reply

