Review: PS I Still love you – Jenny Han

20698530Series: Lara Jean #2
Published: May, 2015
Genre: contemporary, romance / Young adult
Goodreads

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.


15749186

One of the best thigs about To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before was the incredible and sweet bond between the three Song girls. It was a book about romance, yes, but it also was a book about family and even though I wasn’t the biggest fan of Lara Jean’s sisters, I was a great fan of their relationship.

 PS I Still Love You  takes everything you liked about the first book and expands it. There were some elements that I enjoyed far more than in book 1, but there were others that I missed. I was a little hesitant about this book, having read that it was not as enjoyable as its predecessor but if you liked anything about Lara Jean’s world, you’ll surely enjoy this second installment.

spoilers for book 1 below

I’m going to start by mentioning everything I liked:

larajean3 Lara Jean and Peter. Of course. I liked them in book 1 and I’ve liked them now. It’s fun to see their dynamic and how they both learn about each other and about their relationship. They’re sweet. They’re friends. They’re in love. And this time there’s no love square. From the synopsis it seems like the focus of the book will be in the love triangle (square if you count Genevieve, who’s always there), but in my opinion, book 1 was more about the love triangle/square/figure and book 2 is more about family and exploring Lara Jean and Peter’s relationship.

The hot tub “incident” was not forgotten and was a big part of this book.
I was afraid everything would be new and they would not mention the hot tub again, but I was surprised to see that, as it would if that happened in real life, it’s still there. And they discuss the episode and what it means.

Margot says, “Society is far too caught up in shaming a woman for enjoying sex and applauding a man. I mean, all of the comments are about how Lara Jean is a slut, but nobody’s saying anything about Peter, and he’s right there with her. It’s a ridiculous double standard.”
I hadn’t thought of that.

Chapter 6

– The double standards. As the hot tub episode has already happened, Jenny Han actually discussed what it implies and some double standars people have. And not only that, but the book is also more inclusive and thoughtful.

“Nobody will say anything to Lara Jean because she’s Peter’s girl. That means she’s under his protection, like on The Sopranos.”
“Lara Jean doesn’t need a boy to protect her.”
Chapter 6

larajean1– Another issue I had with book 1 is how little Chris appeared. I didn’t like her much, but she is Lara Jean’s best friend and from what the book showed us, I could not believe that to be true. But PS I Still Love You gives us a little more insight on Lara Jean’s life outside of her sisters, which includes her family (and her Korean roots, yay!), friends from school, Chris and Lucas. That was a nice touch, to see that she has other people in her life apart from her dad, Margot and Kitty. Her family has extended.
Similarly to what I said about Chris I want to mention Lucas. I would have liked to see more of him too on book 1, and not only do we get that, but we get some conversations about homosexuality, which ties into the double standards point sometimes.

“You’re lucky,” he says.
“Lucky how?”
“Lucky that you have . . . options.(…)I just wish our school was bigger. There’s nobody for me here.” He stares off into space moodily. Sometimes I look at Lucas and for a second I forget he’s gay and I want to like him all over again.
I touch his hand. “One day soon you’ll be in the world, and you’ll have so many options you won’t know what to do with them. Everyone will fall in love with you, because you’re so beautiful and so charming, and you’ll look back on high school as such a tiny blip.”
Chapter 31
No Josh. Well, Josh is there and he does appear, but he is not a main character or as important as he was in book 1. I didn’t like him at all; at the very beginning of book 1, before the letters, I actually liked him a lot, but then he became so annoying and I could not stand them, so I was very happy that his part in PS I Still Love You was reduced.

larajean

– Margot. In book 1, I also could not stand Margot. She, like Josh, was very annoying  (she and Josh were perfect for each other) and I did not like how she treated Lara Jean. She didn’t seem like a older caring sister, she just felt like a sister, one with which you do not necessarily get on well. And that is not the case, the Song sisters are one. But in this one, she and her relationship with Lara Jean has changed. A lot. For the better. I could see how much she cared for the family, how much they meant to  her and how she missed everyone.

– As this was a sequel to To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before we are already familiar with the characters and  no unnecessary introductions are made. We go straight to the story, to what we came for. And Lara Jean.

Things I didn’t like:

larajean4– Kitty. To be fair, I didn’t hate her character, but I only see her as a comic relief. She’s  supposed to be 10? I think, but behaves like a child. I was more used to her and she didn’t bother me that much (in fact, there were some scenes where I liked her a lot, when she talks with Lara Jean about everything that happened) but I’m still not in love with her.

– Genevieve. I know I’m not supposed to like her, and I don’t, but what gets me is how obsessed Lara Jean is with her. On one hand, I get LJ. She was a very important part of Peter’s life, and of her life too, so it’s normal for her to think and doubt and I liked that she did. It’s normal to have these thoughts, to wonder about your partner’s exes but on the other hand, she thought and mentioned Genevieve more often than  Peter, and that is not good for a relationship. It’s sad, especially because Genevieve was such good friends with her and Peter (Peter more recently), but enough is enough.

– The double standars. Yes, again. I got so mad with some of the comments people made. Aaaaaaaargh. This is nothing about Jenny Han or the book, of course, this is against all of those characters. GROW UP.


30312860

It goes without saying that I am sooo excited about Always and Forever, Lara Jean and I will be checking it out as soon as I can. Book 3 comes out May, 2017.

Have you read PS I Still Love You? What did you think? Were you happy with the ending? Do you like Lara Jean and Peter together? Who is your favourite character? Are you looking forward to the third book? Would you like me to review book 1? Tell me, tell me, I want to know.

All the images used are from Jenny Han’s instagram. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

