Top Ten 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For

toptentuesdayCreated by The Broke and the Bookish

This weekly meme seems perfect for me, as I loooooooooooove lists. But I’m also am very indecisive, so I will always miss mentioning some titles.

Where to start? I get excited about aaaaaaaaall the books, but only I have to put some of them, so here are the top ten debuts I’m excited for. Or the ones I remember (even though I have checked goodreads) and I believe I’ll be able to read, or interested. Will I end up reading them? Only time will tell, but I hope I do.

These are in no particular order. I’m not less excited for the last five, it’s just that I did not have as much to say about them (and this is already too long, sorry). I also tried to include every genre (every genre I like).

  • The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich (May 16th)
    31145148Spies. A book about spies. That alone should get me pumped about reading it, but it’s not all. It’s a contemporary book about spies. Not historic fiction or mystery or thriller, but a contemporary.
    Two boys, a good guy and a bad guy are working for this secret organization, whose agents are called Love Interests. And they need to make a girl fall in love with them. Actually need to. Whoever loses will die. But surprisingly, they start having feelings for each other. Oh, I didn’t mention that? I will repeat it then: the boys start having feelings for each other, not for the girl.

 

  • 33643994Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller (February 28th) 
    To be honest, I thought this was a middle grade because of its cover, and I was fine with (I want to read more middle grade books), but then I read the synopsis and… no, nothing’s changed, I’m still interested; it sounds cool. And piraaaaates. I believe I have not read any book that had pirate. Being locked up makes for an interesting premise, but even if she weren’t, she’s in a ship, an enemy ship, which could bring a lot of intrigue, secrets and treachery.

 

  • 29102841Forget Me Not by Ellie Terry (March 14th)
    This IS a middle grade book. It’s also a book about mental health, or rather, a character in the book has a health condition. These ticks another “genre” I wanted to read more book from. And I’m so happy this is a middle grade book dealing with a health syndrome!
    I don’t think I need to say more about this book, or if I can because that gorgeous cover is distracting me too much.

 

  • Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza (February 7th) 302691262I haven’t read any science fiction books. Actually, I’m scared of them. I have had a horrible history of reading slumps, and these kind of books rely on world building, explanations and descriptions which do not make it easy , especially since I’m a slow reader but their synopsis are always very interesting and this looks like a nice combo with fantasy (which also scares me a little for the same reasons, but never mind). And there’s a princess (I like princesses).
    Isn’t the cover beautiful? Fun fact: the author’s surname means beauty in Spanish. So yeah, pun intended.

 

  • When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (May 30th)
    28458598Two Indian-American leads, yas! And a summer programm! I like the name Rishi, I don’t know why. From the synopsis Dimple seems like she needs no man. And her parents do not only want her to marry but they prepare a marriage arrangement. I am excited to learn more about Indian-Americans, and I am in interested to how the both leads will tackle the arrangement. They are not the ones who arranged the marriage but I’m sure things between them will be tense between them because of that.
    I feel like I’m repeating myself, but look at the cover! All of these covers are amazing and I’m going to repeat that, I’m sure.

Also excited for:

Which 2017 debuts are YOU excited for?  Do we have any in common? I’ve left many, I know.

Next TTT: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

8 thoughts on “Top Ten 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For

  1. Lilyn G says:

    Oh, don’t be scared of science fiction! Yes, there’s some authors that go into a little too much detail, but you’re going to find that regardless of the genre!

    Have you read The Martian by Andy Weir? It’s got some technical stuff in it, but you don’t *need* to understand the science to enjoy the story.

    What about James Patterson’s House of Robots? MG Sci-Fi, technically.

    Do you like Wall-E? Firefly? Try Serengeti by JB Rockwell or The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers, respectively.

    All are easy, enjoyable sci-fi reads that don’t require a lot of world building.

    My 2017 Debut List

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      That’s true, it happens with other books regardless of the genre, but I get scared either way. I’ve had too many reading slumps, all caused because of authors overdescribing things. Apart from the descriptions, I sometimes get lost, or do not understant what they’re saying, or see too manby words I do not recognize. Or simple get bored. And I know I don’t have to get everything to enjoy the story, but I like to, just in case I miss something important. I’m weird like that haha
      I liked Firefly, yes! Sometimes it got confussing for me, though. And I haven’t watched Wall-E I think… Though it’s different to watch something than to read about it, in my opinion. But I’d like to try reading sci-fy, that’s why I added it to the list 💪💪
      Thanks for the list and for your comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Edel says:

    Nice list! Honestly I’ m not enough in the loop to know about any upcoming releases this year. Thank goodness for Top Ten Tuesday! You’ve got me interested in When Dimple Met Rishi. I love reading about Asian-Americans (India is in South Asia after all!) so it’s great that they’re having some exposure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      Awww, thanks ❤ I had to research a little, I didn't know much but that's why I enjoy TTT 😊
      Me too! I love when I discover new things when reading, but I also feel bad about not knowing these things. But When Dimple Met Rishi surely looks interesting, right? I'm so excited 😁
      Thank you for leaving a comment ❤

      Like

  3. Esther @ Chapter Adventures says:

    Hi Anna! I see your blog is new 😀 Welcome to the bookish blogging community! I’m fairly new myself, but I can tell you it’s great fun.
    I added The Love Interest to my TBR so fast after reading your description. It sounds so cute and fun! When Dimple Met Rishi and Caraval were already on my TBR, so I’m glad to see them here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      Thanks ❤ It makes me regret not joining earlier 😊
      I'm glad you discovered a new release here. It surely looks cute, I can't wait until I can get a copy ❤
      I saw those books on your list and was happy to have some in common. I hope you enjoy them when you read them. I'll be waiting for your reviews 😉
      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

