2017 Diverse Reads Book Challenge

Sadly, diversity is currently an issue, not only in the book community, but in the whole world. And it shouldn’t be. It should be normal.

I’m ashamed to say I don’t read as many diverse books as I’d like (or at least I don’t think I do), so I was happy to come across this challenge. However, I had already “planned” a TBR for the year so my goal will be affected by that 😢️ Sorry! I still want to participate, though. There will never be enough diverse books, and at least I’ll be discovering incredible new reads.

diverse2breads2b2017
The 2017 Diverse Reading Challenge is hosted by Mishma @ Chasing Faerytales and Shelly @ Read.Sleep.Repeat.

For newbies to the challenge – what is it all about? Well, we want to encourage the reading and support of diverse books and marginalized voices, and therefore this challenge hopes to help you read more diversely in 2017!
— From Chasing Faerytales

The challenge runs from January 1st to December 31st and you can read as many books as you want, from any genre and format. The lovely hosts made a lot of lists to help us choose our books, and also for us to know what is considered diverse.

“We recognize all diverse experiences, including (but not limited to) LGBTQIA, Native, people of color, gender diversity, people with disabilities, and ethnic, cultural, and religious minorities.”
–From We Need Diverse Books

There are mini challenges for each month, which are optional, but I will share them because they can give you ideas and because they mention several forms of diversity. Also, if for some miracle I could, I’d like to do some of them:

January – Stories based on/ inspired by diverse folktales/culture/mythology
February – POC/ Biracial/ Multiracial Main Character/Lead
March – Disability
April – Mental Health
May – Religious Diversity
June and July – Sexuality and Gender Identity
August – Non Western Setting
September – Ownvoices
October – Intersectionality
November – Diverse Retelling
December – 2017 Releases

You can take a look at their list here, and follow them on twitter @ chasingfaes and @ shellysrambles. Do not forget to share your progress on twitter with the hashtag #DiverseReads2017

My goal is to read between 5 and 10 books

Hopefully 7, but time will tell. I know it’s not a lot, but my TBR pile is already big and I found this challenge “too late”. I will update you on my progress on my wrap ups, but here are the books from my TBR that are considered diverse:

Only 4, I know 😭️ However, there are a lot of diverse books I want to read, including new releases; here are a few of them, from which I will select some:

I tried to include different diverse books:  LGBTQIA+, POC, disabilities, mental health issues, non Western settings… Most of them are YA but there are a couple of Middle Grade books. Similarly, the majority are contemporaries, but there is also a retelling and fantasy.

PROGRESS

Books read: 1/10

51hsvnigzsl-_sy346_

Are you participating? How many books are you planning on reading for the challenge? Would you recommend any?
Good luck and thank you for reading 😊

3 thoughts on “2017 Diverse Reads Book Challenge

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      I was having some doubts too because my TBR was also planned. But I ended up setting a low goal and even if I don’t complete it I will have discovered new books 😊And you may not necessarily need a goal, this is just a pledge to read more diversely.
      Check your TBR because you may have added some diverse books aleady 😉 And, as you said, it runs for a whole year, so there’s always time to join! If you end up doing so, I hope you have a great time.
      Thanks for stopping by😙

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

