Bout of Books 18 Wrap Up

Bout of Books 18 ended yesterday and I’m here to share my progress with you. I have been tweeting my updates on twitter, but haven’t done any daily updates here, I thought a wrap up would be better, though I have been editing my lists, especially my currently reading one and 2017 reading list.

wuth1tql

You can take a look at my initial post, where I explain what Bout of Books is and I present my TBR. I didn’t have any specific goals, I just wanted to enjoy the readathon, read and interact with others.

Here you can see my daily progress, all of them linked to my twitter updates:

Day 1 – Monday, January 2nd
Progress

I was able to finish The Selection and Just One Day just before the readathon started, so I had no books started. I decided to continue on with the Selection series, so my first book was The Elite. I read 84 pages. I had no goals for the first day, but I realized I may have got too excited about my “TBR”. However, I didn’t do a TBR per se, just the books I might read from.

Day 2 – Tuesday, January 3rd
Goals | Progress

I wasn’t intending to beat yesterday’s pages (which was a good decision, since I didn’t do it); my goal was to read 5 chapters. I didn’t specify from which book, but I continued with The Elite. I ended up reading 6 chapters (woah, I know) which were 58 pages. But I was happy with my result, given that I was out practically all day.
Total of pages read: 142

Day 3 – Wednesday, January 4th
Goals | Progress | Challenge

12842134For day 3 I felt like I needed to add another book. I have read The Elite previously and I like alternating books, so I mentioned in my goals that I wanted to start a new book. As I finished book 1 just before the readathon and I added it to my TBR, I settled for Just One Year. Apart from that, I would continue with my 5 chapters for The Elite AND I, for the first time in this readathon, and as you’ll see, the last one, I pledged to do the daily challenge. I love challenges but I’m so bad at them; this one, however, was nice and easy enough for me to actually do it.
I ended up reading 47 pages of The Elite and 50 of Just One Year, which were 5 and 6 chapters.
Total pages read: 239

Day 4 – Thursday, January 5th
Goals | Progress

I bet you can guess my goals by now, right? I wanted to read 5 chapters from both books, The Elite and Just One Year, which I did (actually, I read 6 chapters from The Elite, 6! I’m so good, I know). I ended up reading 56 pages from The Elite and 30 pages from Just One Year.
Total pages read: 325

Day 5 – Friday, January 6th
Goals | Progress

My goals today were very simple: read what I can. It was a holiday here, and I had a family lunch (you know how long those take), so I only had time to right in the evening, and I was exhausted. Still, I read 45 pages from The Elite.
Total pages read: 370

Day 6 – Saturday, January 7th
Goals | Progress

16248068If yesterday had not been a holiday, I may have pledged to finish The Elite, but I couldn’t, so I proposed that for today. And I DID! I FINISH A BOOK! MY FIRST BOOK FOR BOUT OF BOOKS! By now most people had read at least 2 books but I didn’t care. I had finished a book!!🎉 Also, this was the first book I read entirely during 2017; I finished two other books, but I read most of them in 2016.
Apart from the 46 pages I had left of The Elite, I read 47 pages of Just One Year.
Buuuuuut, that’s not all! When I woke up, I saw that there was a twitter chat going on for day 6, and when I saw the time, I couldn’t believe it, I could participate! Normally, with the time difference, it’s difficult for me to even consider, but it was in the afternoon for me, so I did, and I was so happy! I loved it and I wish I could participate in more twitter chats.
Total pages read: 463
Books read: 1 💃

Day 7 – Sunday, January 8th
Goals | Progress

Yesterday was a great day. My most successful day. I ended up being so happy; not only because I finished a book, but also because of the twitter chat. During the whole readathon, I tried to interact with other readers, so it was an even better experience. And, as I finished one of the two books I was reading, I thought I could focus on the other, Just One Year. I was at page 127 from 336, so I knew I wouldn’t be able to finish it. I set my goal to arrive to the middle of the book (I was at 38%) but then… but then. Something happened that made me not want to read for the whole day and all the excitement I had, vanished. If you follow me on twitter, you may know what I’m talking about.
I finished my last day of the readathon with 0 pages read.

TOTAL PAGES READ: 463
TOTAL BOOKS READ: 1
BOOKS I READ FROM: THE ELITE AND JUST ONE YEAR
NEXT BOUT OF BOOKS: MAY 8TH-14TH

I am happy with what I managed during this week.I know that it may not seem much, but for me, it’s progress and I read something! That’s amazing, and that’s why bout of books is so great; it doesn’t have any pressure to read a certain number of books, you set your own goals.

Without counting day 7, I managed to read every day, and my lowest page score was 46 pages, which I’m so happy about. Also, it doesn’t seem like it, but I dedicated a lot of time every day to reading. I’ve told you before that I’m a slow reader, and that I have a huge record of reading slumps, so trust me when I say that I spent all my afternoons  (or evenings, if I was out that day) reading.

As I mentioned in my initial post, I love bout of books, so I will definetely join the next one! May 8th is already marked on my calendar 🙂

Next Bout of Books Wrap Up: 19

Now I want to know about you? Did you know about bout of books? Have you participated? If so, how did you do? And if not, will you join the next one?

Leave a Reply

