Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

toptentuesdayCreated by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to). And where can I start? There are A LOT. Unfortunately, I don’t read as many new releases as I’d like, but I surely get excited about them. So, for me, this is more of a Top Ten 2016 Releases I Really Wish I Could Have Read But Of Course Didn’t Get To.


  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (January 5th)
    I’m going to be honest: I did start reading this book, but then I fell into a reading slump and I was afraid of picking it up again. I still am, but I also want to read this.
    And everybody is loving this, and the hype is so high I decided to let it die down a bit and experience this without those expectations getting in my way. Or that’s what I tell myself.
  • A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro (March 1st)
    I discover this book late in the year. I am a fan of Sherlock Holmes and was very intrigued by this retelling. I haven’t read many reviews but ratings are good. As I say below, with The Amateurs, I’m not a reader of mysteries, but this looks different, this is not only a mystery, it’s a retelling.
    Book 2 comes out in February; I doubt I read A Study in Charlotte before The Last of August is released, but I’d like to do it soon, hopefully this year.
  • The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski (March 29th)
    I got into the series in 2016 and read the first two books in the trilogy. However, I never even started the last book, probably because of a slump, let’s be real, but also because I’ve heard sooo many good things and people saying it’s the best in the series, which I trully believe, given the evolution of the characters, but, like Truthwitch, I gave it a little time.
    It’s in my list of series to finish in 2017, so hopefully I can take it off the list soon.
  • The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead (April 5th)
    My excitement about this book has almost died down. Reviews have been kinda bad for this book and, to be honest, I was interested in it because it’s by Richelle Mead. I’ll still read it but I am not as excited for it. It got in the list because I was curious about the book and I still plan on reading it, I’m just not priorizing it.
  • This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (July 5th)
    Another author I still have not tried. No, I have not read any of Victoria Schwab’s books. No, I have not read any of V. E. Schwab’s books either. Yes, I want to.
    As with some of the titles above, the reviews and the hype is so good that I am scared; I do not want to be let down but I’m very curious. I also never know which of her books I should read first. Suggestions?
  • A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess (September 20th)
    Magic. This book is about magic. I was very intrigued by the synopsis, and by our main character. I don’t want to say too much, because maybe it would be better to go into this not knowing a lot but in short, the main character is the first female sorcerer (don’t know in how long or if that was supposed to be like the only female sorcerer in the kingdom).
  • Twisted Palace by Erin Watt (October 17th)
    I don’t usually read NA. In fact, I think Paper Princess, the first book in the series, was the first NA book I read. And, surprisingly, I liked it. I buddy read the first two books and plan on buddy reading the Twisted Palace too, so that’s the reason why I haven’t read this one yet. However, it’s also in my list of series to finish in 2017. Do you have any NA recommendations?
  • The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon (November 1st)
    The only reason I have not read this is because I don’t have a copy. I loved Everything Everything  and was beyond excited when I heard about The Sun Is Also A Star. As soon as I can get a copy, I am reading this.
    I wouldn’t feel so bad about not reading this book if I haven’t loved Everything Everything  because this one just came out.
  • The Amateurs by Sara Shepard (November 1st)
    I’ve mentioned this in my #beatthebacklist TBR post, but I loved the tv show The Lying Game and I also like Pretty Little Liars. However, I have only read one Sara Shepard book, and it was too long ago; it was the first Pretty Little Liars. I’ve heard that the books and tv shows are very different, but I like how fun and fast-paced they both are. I’m not a huge fan of mystery books, but since I like the tv shows, and the books are short, I want to give this author a try (or another one).
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer (November 8th)
    I loooooooooove fairy tales, so I am always interested in books that have retellings. I have to admit I have not read the Lunar Chronicles (yet) but I am still excited for this book because I’ve heard the author and her writing style are great and retellings, duh.

What’s on your Top Ten? Do you plan on reading all of them this year? Have you read any book that is on my list? Do you want to read any of them too?


Previous TTT: 2017 Debuts I’m Excited For

18 thoughts on “Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

  1. Lois says:

    Vicious would be a good place to start with Victoria Schwab’s work. It’s the only standalone, although there is a sequel in the works for it. However, if you’re looking for a series then I’d definitely read her Shades of Magic trilogy. 😀 You can’t really go wrong with one of her books haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

