The Reader Watches

Apart from books, I love my TV shows and movies. As you may know, English is not my first language (not even the second) so growing up, watching them in their original version allowed me to learn English and now, they help me to improve it. I would not have continued to watch them if I didn’t like them, of course. And I do, I love love love them.

I wanted to do something with TV shows and movies on the blog; so I decided to talk about what I have watched, what I’m watching and what is coming out soon. For now I will do this every two weeks.

TV SHOWS

I watch a lot of TV, I know. There were a lot of times when the only thing that distracted me or made me somehow happy was TV. Books helped me a lot, but I’ve had some very bad cases of reading slumps. I have sometimes felt like not watching something, but those periods were not as long as my reading slumps. And TV is not as demanding as reading.

a-new-series-of-unfortunate-events-to-hit-netflix-462487I’m afraid I cannot talk about every TV show I watch, so for now I will mention returning shows, either with new seasons or from hiatus or shows I have marathoned or watched a lot of episodes. Some of them I may still have to catch up.

New seasons or new shows:

  • A Series of Unfortunate Events (season 1)

I did not watch the movie adaptation when it came out but still was pretty excited for this series (it’s a netflix show and netflix has amazing quality). I have just finished reading book 1, The Bad Beginning, and this first season is based on the first four books, so I will wait until I have read those before watching the TV show but it’s getting difficult; the reviews are great. This has just premiered, after all.

  • Shadowhunters (season 2)

sherlock-season-4-photo-picSeason 1 was not the best, but I want to support this adaptation. The promos for season 2 already looked better and the acting seems to have improved; it also feels darker and less messy. Also, they changed the writers (from episode 4 onwards, I believe).

  • Sherlock (season 4)

For a show that only comes once in a thousand years two(if we’re lucky)/three years, I HAD to mention it. I’ve been rewatching season 3 to prepare for season 4, so now I’m ready waiting for the final episode of the season.

  • Also coming back: Colony (season 2)

Returning from hiatus (at least a month off-air):

  • Agents of SHIELD (season 4), The Blacklist (season 4), Chicago Fire (season 5), Chicago Med (season 2), Chicago PD (season 4), Conviction (season 1)

MOVIES

I love movies, but I don’t watch as many as I’d like, probably because I’m lazy and dedicating two hours to watch a movie… is hard. I can easily spend that time, and more, watching a TV show, but I don’t see it like that. I don’t watch 3 hours of a TV show, I watch 4 episodes of a TV show, which is totally different, okay? Okay.

mv5bztjingm2njitndriyy00zjy0ltgwntitzdbmzgrlodq4ythkl2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymjy5odi4ndk-_v1_sy1000_cr006751000_al_Movies I have watched:

  • Moana
  • Captain America: Civil War (of course, I know this movie by heart already)
  • Sherlock. I know this is a TV show, but its episodes are 90 minutes long, so it’s like a movie, really.

Movies coming out in the next couple of weeks:

  • Split by director M. Night Shyamalan (January 20th)

I try to track the releases for the movies I want to see, but I always forget a lot, so there might be more.

*Movies are all linked to IMDb but I haven’t linked the TV shows. I use a couple of websites to keep track of what I watch and what comes next, but I didn’t know which one to link to


What are you currently watching? Has your TV show already came back from break? What movies will you watch these next days? Do you want to discuss any TV show?

 

Leave a Reply

