First Lines First Thoughts (1)

First Lines, First Thoughts is a weekly meme where you share the first line of the books you’re reading and your thoughts about it. Alternatively, you can also use the books you’ve read during the week.


What am I reading this week?

“You’ve got to be kidding me,” the bouncer said, folding his arms across his massive chest. He stared down at the boy in the red zip-up jacket and shook his shaved head. “You can’t bring that thing in here.”

City of Bones, Cassandra Clare

256683Bring what, bring what? Just kidding, most of you have probably read this book and know what “that thing” is. This is my most read chapter in The Mortal Instruments and a good introduction to the series. Early on we see some action and even though we’re still not familiar with the terminology or the story, it’s still entertaining and you don’t feel lost.

These lines in particular don’t offer that much information, though once you know what the story is about, who the boy is and what they are talking about, it offers more ties to the story; after all, the boy is not so nice, his intentions are not the best, and that object he has proves it even though it’s fake. First impressions lie.


The stretch of road that leads out of the city, past Hazy Harbor and into the town of Tedia, is perhaps the most unpleasant in the world. It is called Lousy Lane.

The Reptile Room, Lemony Snicket

78418This is a great example of the tone and story of A Series of Unfortunate Events. You may not actually think of The Reptile Room in particular when reading this, but you also don’t get spoiled about the previous book, The Bad Beginning, nor for this one; it just brings you to the wolrd of the Baudelaire orphans and reminds you how unfortunate  and unlucky these children are.


What are you reading? Can you remember the first line? Do you think it makes the book justice?

 

 

4 thoughts on “First Lines First Thoughts (1)

  1. Elin says:

    I’M currently reading the queen of tearling. I hope it was okay I did this meme on my blog too. I never read a series of unfortunate events. But I want to someday. I LOVE Cassandra Clare and city of bones have a great first line. But I was never fan of the series. THE INFERNAL DEVICES was my favorite of her series so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      Oh my God, of course it’s cool, thank you so much❤️️ You made me so happy, gonna check it now!
      I want to read Queen of the Tearling, so it will be interesting 😛
      City of Bones has a great first line, yes! I only read Clockwork Angel from the Infernal Devices so I can’t say much, but I’m planning on slowly rereading and catching up on her series 🙂
      ASoUE is so funny! And the books are so short, sadly 😦 definetely check them out 😉 I’ve heard the netflix show is also great but haven’t started it yet.
      Thank you so much for stopping by, Elin!

      Like

      • Elin says:

        Hope you love The Infernal Devices. I love it specially because I love London and the time periode. Not so fan of love triangle, but kind of love it in TID. Yes I heard the netflix show is great too.I saw the film version long ago and enjoyed it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

