Monthly Wrap Up – January

MY FIRST MONTH ON THE BOOK BLOGGING COMMUNITY *so excited* THANK YOU ALL FOR READING ME. Really, it means a lot to me. I managed to get 50 followers in this month, and I still don’t know why. I can only say thank you to all of you. Thank you thank you thank you.

Okay, sorry, I’ll try to calm down. Here is my January wrap-up; I’ve grouped everything in little blocks, so it’s more clear.

Books Read and Reviewed

I have read a total of 4 books this month, though if I were honest, they were only two, since my first two reads of the month were mostly read in December. Also, what I did read in January was thanks to the boutofbooks readathon, which took place at the beginning of the month.

  • The Selection by Kiera Cass
  • Just One Day by Gayle Forman
  • The Elite by Kiera Cass
  • The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

From those 4 books, I only reviewed two; I wasn’t sure if I should review The Selection series or not, but time passed and passed and I did not write that review. Definetely tell me if you’d like to see a review.

 

Weekly Memes

There are two popular memes that I decided to take part in:

Apart from those two, I have also added two more. First one is The Reader Watches, in which I walk a bit about TV and movies, published every two Fridays and First Lines First Thoughts, on Sundays, in which I share and comment on the first line (pretty selff-explanatory) of the books I’m reading:

One change I’m planning on doing in the blog is regarding The Reader Watches. Even though I love sharing what I’ve been watching or are palnning to watch, I’m not sure I’m doing it as I would like to. I decided to do it twice a month because I watch a lot of TV and I also have other posts for the beginning of the month, like wrap-ups and TBR. But I’m not happy with my results. I’m not commenting as much as I should, but if I did, the posts would be too long. I also don’t think I have enough material to do it weekly, so that meme is still something I’m debating over but which will surely change in the future. How, I’m still not sure.

On the blog

Challenges & Readathons

The first one might not be a challenge challenge it’s something I wanted to do. I love book series but sometimes I get carried away and start lots and lots of them, without finishing the ones I have already started. Even though I know I’ll start some more, I wanted to finish some others. I may add more to the list, but I will NOT delete any.

Every month I will update you on how I’m doing with my challenges.

Bookish News

I like reading news, and for a blog regarding books, I though I should share the ones I can remember from the past month. I like being on the loop about bookish news, but also TV and movie news, so I might do this in a separate section in the future (or else this wrap-ups will be too long too. However, for January, I will only be mentioning bookish news:

  • Stephanie Perkins, author of the Anna and the French Kiss series, revealed the title of her next book: There’s Someone Inside Your House. It’s a horror novel and she revealed that the killer is human and the weapon, a knife (source)
  • Susan Dennard, author of the Witchlands, revealed the title of the third book in the series: Bloodwitch (source)
  • Ally, the sequel to Anna Banks’ Nemesis, has a shiny shimmering splendid cover (source)
  • Harris Dickinson joins Amandla Stenberg in the movie adaptation of The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken as Liam (source)
  • We have the cover for A Court of Wings and Ruin, third book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (source)
  • Maggie Stiefvater announced she is publishing a new YA novel, a standalone, this fall: All the Crooked Saints, previously known as #darknovel (source)
  • Leigh Bardugo is going to publish another book set in the Grishaverse: The Language of Thorns. Is a collection of stories, “The kind of stories that the characters in the books might have heard growing up” (source)

Next Wrap Up: February


What about you? How was your month reading and blogging-wise?

Leave a Reply

