Top Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would

toptentuesday

Created by The Broke and the Bookish

I thinkg it wouldn’t be fair to focus on one of those, so I decided to do 5 books of each (I was even wondering to do 10 of each, which is still a posibility, if you’d like).

Please, do not be offended if I have liked a book tha you hated or were disappointed in one you loved; a lot of factors made me choose these books and not others. Still, I apologize in advance.

5 Books I Loved More Than I Thought I Would

  • The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

I’ve read most of the Mortal Instruments books and some of the Infernal Devices. I haven’t read any of Holly Black’s books but I knew both authors are friends and have similar writing styles. However, what had me worried about this book was that it was a middle grade novel, and the lenght of the book was not that big. Again, speaking only for Cassie’s books, they are huge, no less than 400 pages, and this one had less than 300, it was co-written and a middle grade, so I was afraid it would be too rushed or skim important details, but it wasn’t and I loved it. Also, I’m caught up on this series, and I’m only caught up on two series, so that’s saying something.

  • Paper Princess by Erin Watt

I have mentioned this before on the blog but this was my first NA book and I wasn’t sure what to expect or if NA was for me even. As you can guess, I ended up enjoying it way more that I thought I would. I read it so quickly and had a lot of fun doing so.To be honest, I didn’t even know of this book prior to me reading it, since I buddy read it on goodreads and my friend was the one that suggested it. After reading the synopsis, I decided to give it a go, and I’m so glad I did.

  • Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

I found out about this book around its release (2007!), and found the synopsis very intriguing! I didn’t see this book either on bookstores or in blogs, so I kind of forgot about it with time, which I’m so mad about! Last year, I read the author’s name somewhere and I thought it sounded familiar. I checked her goodreads page and read the synopsis for this book and then, everything clicked! I was still intrigued, but I was hesitant because I haven’t heard much about it and yeah, fantasy still scares me a bit, but I started buddy reading it and even though I was going through a reading slump and it took me longer to finish it, I looooooved every part of it.

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I knew this book was adored by many and I had been warned that it took a looooooooot to get into, so I expected to be bored or lost or even don’t care about this book at all. However, I fell in love with the characters, and didn’t feel the book drag or bore me. It was not, as I was fearing going into it, a slow read.
This is a book driven by its characters and I was lucky enough to click with them, to care and get attached to them, so reading this book was an amazing experience and I felt like part of the group.

  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

The only other fantasy book I read before this was Graceling, and it was a looooong time ago, so the genre was kind of new to me and, as a result, I was a bit scared of it (even though I loved Graceling). I thought I would have to get through neverending descriptions and I would get bored, I wouldn’t follow the story or I just wouldn’t care about what happened or the characters. I, of course, didne’t end up feeling any of those and got into the story immediately (also, no neverending descriptions).

5 Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

  • The 100 by Kass Morgan

This probably had something to do with how amazing the TV show is. I became aware of the book thanks to the TV show and even though the show premiered after the book was released, I had already seen the promos and a couple of episodes. I knew they were extremely different, and I had read some reviews about the book, so I tried going into it like any other book and forget about the TV show. I did, given how different both were, but I was still disappointed in it. I felt things were not explained as well as they should have and the characters were too lucky, or things too convenient for them. I also didn’t see them struggling, which was hard for me to believe.

  • Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

I know, I’m sorry. I liked Clockwork Angel but I had to put this book aside because I was bored with it. I had to force myself to read it and I remember being half-way through and nothing had happened (some things happened, but it was going sooooo slowly). I am planning on rereading this (and all the previous books, I need to catch up!), because I believe I did not read this book at a good time, so I hope my feelings for it change when I do.

  • Looking for Alaska by John Green (and Paper Towns)

I was about to put The Fault in Our Stars in the list above because after having tried Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns, I seriously thought I couldn’t enjoy a John Green novel; they were such let-downs that they influenced my view on TFiOS. The main problems I had with Alaska and PT is that I just didn’t care; I didn’t care for the story and I didn’t care for the characters. I just could not connect with them and didn’t like them at all, so the storydragged behind them and I just couldn’t see the appeal.

  • Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

I’m putting all three parts together for this. I enjoyed this, I really did! What bothered me was how rushed it felt. It just went straight to the action, which is not in itself a bad thing, but I just wasn’t happy with the information and explanations we got. It also focused on the “romance” a bit too much. I am a romantic so that doesn’t normally bother me, however, I felt like they had more important things to deal with. And then we have part 3, which was a disappointment, especially with the resolution.

  • Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Again, sorry for this one. To be honest, it was the timing of me reading it, because overall, I liked it and I’m so excited for the movie! It didn’t stick with me as much as it should have otherwise because I had to stop reading it for some time due to a reading slump and that made my affected my reading experience.


I am going to write my reasons for all of them tonight, as I now have to go to work. Sorry.

Which were some books you liked more or less than you though you would? Do we have any in common?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would

  1. utopiastateofmind says:

    I have not read Throne of Glass yet, so I am glad to see this here. I keep hearing people who love it or hate it, so I will need to make time to read it myself. But otherwise I have not actually read any from this list!

    I am looking forward to reading your reasons for Throne of Glass 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      I was not even sure what to expect so I did enjoy it a lot! It’s not perfect and I also have some minor “problems” with it but overall I like it a lot ❤️️
      I hope you also like it when you read it, can’t wait to see what you think (hopefully that you enjoy it!).
      Thanks for stopping by 😘

      Like

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      I loved them too but they also felt very rushed. And then there was book 3, yes, which was a disappointment (that ending! I’m still mad).
      I’m so happy I enjoyed Throne of Glass and Raven Boys so much! So glad I picked them up. I should continue with those series, though. And it’s great you feel the same way 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by, Kat, and happy reading to you too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

