Blog Tour: Pillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell

march-5

Published: October 2016
Genre: Poetry
Goodreads

Pillow Thoughts is a collection of poetry and prose about heartbreak, love and raw emotions.
It is divided into sections to read when you feel you need them most.
Make a cup of tea and let yourself feel.


The only poetry books I had read previous to this one were for school or college. And I enjoyed them but even though I appreciate it, poetry is not my style; I need to understand everything and that is sometimes difficult for me when reading poetry. But when I discovered this book, I thought I would step out of my comfort zone and give it a try.

51hsvnigzsl-_sy346_I started this book kind of hesitant, without knowing what to expect. I imagined a story told through poems and even though we indeed got a story, it’s not the type I expected. The poems are grouped according to “theme”. So we have poems about heartbreak, about missing someone, we have poems for when we’re sad, or for when we’re lonely. We have a variety of topics, all great and all touching. That’s the story of this book, a story about the heart, a story about love.

Courtney Peppernell writes so honestly and emotionally that you cannot help but feel. Feel love. Feel hope. Feel heartbreak. Feel excitement. Feel feel feel. I wanted to hug her sometimes. Other times, I wanted to thank her. Because some poems speak to you. Even though some topics are quite different, they all share those feelings, that honesty and a deep love. Love for yourself. Love for your partner. Love for your ex. And love for you.

I connected with her. I saw myself in some poems, sometimes because of experience and others simply because I understood what was being discussed. The poems are so easy to understand, to relate to and to enjoy. There are different styles mixed, and different lenghts. Even the titles of the sections form a poem! I particularly liked when she used repetition and also when the first line in a poem was again presented at the end of said poem (what is the name of that figure? Rondel?). And I was able to imagine everything expressed through those poems. My mind created pictures while reading, thanks to the simple but strong images described.


I want to thank Rafael @ The Royal Polar Bear Reads for kindly providing me with an ecopy and including me in this Blog Tour (my first blog tour, yay!).  Also, thank you to the author, Courtney Peppernell.

I am so happy to have stepped out of my comfort zone, for I was able to enjoy a book that I would not have picked up otherwise. So if you are not sure or have doubts about reading poetry or, like me, are not a poetry reader, I recommend you try this book. It’s so easy to read and understand. Moreover, it’s honest, it’s relatable and it’s enjoyable.

Do you like poetry? Have you read this book? What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Pillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell

Leave a Reply

