Cover Reveal: The Silver Mask by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

Sorry to post two cover reveals so close together, but I think from now on, those covers from books I either love or I am so excited about, will go on their own post, apart from being featured in the news section.

As you can see from the title, this is the cover for the fourth book in the Magisterium series, which I love. It’s actually one of the two series I am currently caught up on, and that is saying something.

Without further ado, the cover:

13612968

I don’t really know how to feel. I think it’s the colors that throw me away, or the onster itself. So far, I have really liked the covers and they were all quite similar. However, the mix of this giant face with such light colors doesn’t do it for me.  It shouldn’t be a surprise that these are the colors, given the title of the book, and I do like the second figure at the top.

On the other hand, the kids look amazing! Look how they have grown up. Call seems so brave and confident on himself, ust like Tamara, who looks ready for a fight. Seriously though, I am so happy to see them grown up because they are, they are growing up and it’s nice to see that translated into the covers. Anyway, we usually had the trio on the covers, with Jasper and Havoc joining on book 2, but this time, there is no Aaron (what happened to him?) and no Havoc. And is that Jasper? Please tell me it is, ’cause I like him and would like to see more of him interacting and being part of the group. I might have my answer about Aaron’s whereabouts on a snippet Cassandra Clare released on instagram:

“Master Joseph only laughed, though. “I have a proposal for you, how about that? Callum, once you complete the task I set for you, you can leave the island with your friends if that’s what you still want.”
“A task?” Call asked. “Is this some kind of trick thing where I have to tame an impossible elemental or separate dirt from sand on an entire beach?”
Master Joseph smiled. “Nothing like that.” He flung open the doors at the far end of the room. After a moment, Call and the others joined him at the entryway.
Inside was a large, white-painted room. There was nothing in it but a metal table. On top of the table lay a body that was perfectly preserved, covered to the neck by a thin white sheet.
“The task,” he said. “Is to raise Aaron Stewart from the dead.””

The Silver Mask comes out August 29th. We still have no synopsis so I will leave the synopsis for book 1, in case you are not familair with the series:

Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.
Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.

All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.
So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.

Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.
The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . .


Are you a fan of the Magisterium? What do you think of the cover? Which is your favourite from the series? What do you think will happen in book 4?

Leave a Reply

