Top Ten Tuesday: Quick Reads

toptentuesdayCreated by The Broke and the Bookish

You know I’m a slow reader but there have been some books during the years that I read in one day, or in a short period of time. Some of these also helped me during slumps, which is great for this week’s topic, which is about short and quick reads (books in one sitting, shortest books read, books to read when you’re short on time…)

  • Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Contemporary books are a safe bet when talking about quick reads. When I got the second book in the Hundred Oaks series, Stealing Parker, I decided to relive book 1 and ended up reading it in one day! Given that contemporary books take place in the real world you don’t have a lot of descriptions and world building so so it’s easy to power throuh them because you’re already familiar with it. Plus, they’re normally sweet and fun! This series also include sports (the main characters always love an play a particular sport) but you don’t need to be a fan of sports to enjoy them!

  • Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Apart from being a contemporary, this book also benefits from Yoon’s writing style, which makes it such a quick read! The chapters are very short and so cute and interesting. It was a refreshing read and even though I didn’t, you could perfectly read it in a day. It’s addicting and cute and amazing.

  • Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Never Never came out in three different parts or books, so you can take it as a whole or as three different books. Either way, the result is the same; it goes straight to the point and gets rid of any unnecessary descritptions. There’s a lot of dialogue and focuses mainly on our two main characters, with alternating points of view, which again, help the pacing of the book.

More contemporaries to read in one day are: Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chboski, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski and If I Stay by Gayle Forman

 

  • Paper Princess by Erin Watt

My first new adult book, and I found it so addicting! It also benefits from what I have previously mentioned about contemporary books but it also has a mature level that takes that sweetness into sexy times. Such a fast and addicting read!

  • The Selection by Kiera Cass

Especially book 1. Granted, this is not the best series ever, but it’s so addicting, whether you like it or not. It’s so easy to read and you will find yourself not wanting to stop. You might have heard some negative reviews and even though I enjoyed this book a lot, I agree with some of them; however, the pacing in this book is great and you will fly through this book. The first time I picked it up, I almost read the whole book without realizing it.

  • Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

This is a bit odd but I remember I wanted a friend to read this book and I decided to reread it before lending it to her so we could discuss it better. However, I agreed to give it to her the next day, so I started reading and… I DID IT. I don’t know if being a reread had anything to do with it but I was not tired or bored by it. At that point I was already a bit saturated with vampire books but that did not stand in my way. This series mixes what you may already know about vampires with some

  • Pillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell

Or any collection of poems, really. I have not read many (I have read soooooo few) but poems are great to read when you don’t have much tme. They’re short, so they are great for quick breaks and so full with feelings.

  • The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket 

To my surprise when I started reading this series at the beginning of the year, these books are so fun and easy to read! They’re very short too and if I hadn’t buddy read them (which I enoyed doing) I would probably had finish it earlier. Full with adventures and misfortune, they are surely a good choice to read whithin a day.

  • Any Shakespeare book

Maybe the most surprising pick from this list but I have read a lot of his works in a day! Some times, they were rereads because I had to do a paper or had an exam about them, but it still counts. The first time, however, I always want to pay more attention so I go slower than usual, simply to enjoy it and better understand it, but Shakespearean plays are also full with irony and funny scenes and overall very entertaining and quick reads (and most of them are plays, so they’re short too).

  • Any comic book/graphic novel

Do I really have to explain why?


What about you, which books have you read in one sitting? Which books do you recommend for when you don’t have much time to read? Do you agree with my choices?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Quick Reads

Leave a Reply

