Waiting on Wednesday: Defy the Stars

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Breaking the Spine that spotlights those upcoming releases we’re anticipating

This week’s book is *drum roll*:

31423196

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray – April 4th
Goodreads

This book sounds amazing and after you’ve read the synopsis, I’m sure you’ll agree with me. I have mentioned before how I’m not a huge sci-fi fan but I can’t help but be excited about Defy the Stars.

Claudia Gray is also an author I like, even though I have only read her Evernight series and Fateful. I think she has books for everyone, and they’re all so different from each other and from a variety of genres: Firebird (maybe the most popular, and has different universes, and mixes fantasy, romance and sci-fi), Spellcaster (witches and magic, yay!), Bloodline (a Star Wars story).

Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier from the planet Genesis, once a colony of Earth that’s now at war for its independence. The humans of Genesis have fought Earth’s robotic “mech” armies for decades with no end in sight.

After a surprise attack, Noemi finds herself stranded in space on an abandoned ship where she meets Abel, the most sophisticated mech prototype ever made. One who should be her enemy. But Abel’s programming forces him to obey Noemi as his commander, which means he has to help her save Genesis–even though her plan to win the war will kill him.

Together they embark on a daring voyage through the galaxy. Before long, Noemi begins to realize Abel may be more than a machine, and, for his part, Abel’s devotion to Noemi is no longer just a matter of programming.

A little off topic but also related to the author: yesterday’s topic or TTT was Authors I’m Dying to Meet or Authors I have Met and I didn’t participate because there are so many on the list (of authors I want to read, of course)! I don’t get the chance to go to many  book signings unfortunately,  and the ones that happen are about national authors. However, in 2011, with the release of Hourglass, Claudia Gray came for Sant Jordi and I got the chance to meet her and have my copy signed. I still cannot believe it! I think she’s the only international author that I have ever met and I am still in awe for getting that opportunity.

What about you? Are you excited for Defy the Stars? What other Claudia Gray books have you read? Which one is your favourite?

3 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Defy the Stars

Leave a Reply

