Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

toptentuesdayCreated by The Broke and the Bookish

The topic for this week is Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t. I have probably missed a lot and decided to separate them according to if to the authors, depending if I have read any of their other books or not.

Authors I Have Not Read Before

  • Charlotte Holmes by Brittany Cavallaro
    I love Sherlock Holmes and I have watched almost all its adaptations. However, even though I have read some of the books, I am a bit hesitant about reading these type of books. Charlotte Holmes has had great reviews and it has picked my curiosity.
  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
    I have heard nothing but good things about this series and even though the books are big, there is a lot of material like entry logs, that make the reading experience much more diverse and fun. I have also read that the audiobook is amazing. To be honest, those two are authors I still have to try and I have heard great things about them, so I wanna read their others series too.
    Series from the authors I wanna read: Starbound and The Nevernight Chronicles
  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
    I love fairy tales and retellings but haven’t actually read many; don’t even know why. The Lunar Chronicles has received great reviews but I didn’t even start Cinder, which I actually own.
    Other
  • Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab 
    Or any V.E. Schwab series, really. I decided on picking this one up first and I hope I can start soon (I added it to a couple of TBRs and still nothing). Which one is your favourite?
    Other series from V.E. Schwab I wanna read (basically all): The ArchivedVillains and Monsters of Verity.
  • The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
    Another example of retelling. And this one I am more curious about because even though I know the original fairy tale, I haven’t heard so many retellings about it, and it is not as popular as other fairy tales (probably because it’s not a Disney movie), as far as I know.
    Other books from Renne Ahdieh I wanna read: Flame in the Mist

Series From Authors I Have Read Before

  • A Court of Thones and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
    I have only read two books from the Throne of Glass series but I enjoyed them more than I thought I would, so I am very excited to read her other series. However, I first wanted to finish ToG before throwing myself into ACOTAR which I probably end up doing anyway.
  • The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead
    I loved Vampire Academy, at least the four books I have read (I plan on finishing it someday) but I haven’t been able to read Bloodlines, since it’s a spin-off. When I heard about Glittering Court I was curious and it was great that I didn’t have to read anything else to start this new series but, as you can see, I still haven’t tried it. I did not see many good reviews either, so that put me back a bit; still I want to read it.
    Other series by Richelle Mead I wanna read: Vampire Academy and Bloodlines
  • Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan
    I have been meaning to catch up on Rick Riordan’s books for a long time but never actually went for it. I tried marathoning the Percy Jackson series twice but I always stop before book 5 so I still have that to finish. I wanna read all of Riordan’s series, as I love mythology, and I am interested in all of them but I wanna read the books in order so even though I could probably read Kane Chronicles, for example, I’m not going to yet.
    Other series by Rick Riordan I wanna read: Kane Chronicles, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard and Thr Trials of Apollo. Bonus: The 39 Clues
  • Summer by Jenny Han
    I love love love Lara Jean so I need to read more of her books. No other explanation here.
    Other series by Jenny Han I wanna read: Burn for Burn
  • The Young Elites by Marie Lu
    Technically, I had read half of the book before but I fell into a reading slump at that time and I remember almost nothing about it. I have also read Legend and even though I enjoyed it (have to finish it too) I  can feel they’re both very different. I’m also intrigued by the main character in The Young Elites, which is not your typical one.
    Other series by Marie Lu I wanna read: Legend

Have you read any of those? Which ones do you recommend?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

  1. Lois says:

    ADSoM is definitely a must read. It’s such a magical series and the characters are so morally ambiguous and complex but act like puppies sometimes haha. Vicious is another good Schwab book to read if you like a good cat and mouse chase between enemies.
    I’ve still not finished the Heroes of Olympus series. I have the final book left so I’m hoping to squeeze in some time to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      I had thought about which Schwab book to read first for a long time and I finally decided on ADSOM but I still have to start it. You must be very happy about Vengeful, right?
      I feel you with the series. I plan on finishing the Percy Jackson series this year so hopefully I can continue and maybe some day even catch up.

      Like

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      I’m so curious to see how they all grow up and how they behave. And yay for Shades of Magic 🙂
      That’s one thing I also do, even if I am meh about a book, if I enjoyed it, I will continue because I am curious to see what happens next.
      The Young Elites sounds awesome! And I trust Marie Lu.

      Like

      • iloveheartlandx says:

        They’re not much older than they are in the last Percy Jackson through Heroes of Olympus, as the books take place over a very short space of time. Yes Shades of Magic is awesome! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who does that. I’ve never read anything by Marie Lu but The Young Elites does sound awesome.

        Like

Leave a Reply

