Review: Always and Forever, Lara Jean – Jenny Han

Series: Lara Jean #3
Published: May, 2017
Genre: contemporary, romance / Young Adult
Goodreads
Other reviews from the series: PS I Still Love You (#2)

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?


I was very excited to start this book but I was also avoiding it; I like this series a lot and did not want it to end but I was curious about how everything unfolded. Now let me just say that I could not stop smiling while I was reading. This book, this last Lara Jean novel, was one written for the fans.

It’s a story about friendship, relationships, sisterhood; it’s a story about family. Everything you have liked about the previous books is in this one, and magnified. It’s filled with cuteness.

Lara Jean is as adorable as always. Margot, who I learned to tolerate in the previous book, has taken a step backwards, but I also understand her better; she lives abroad and when she returns home, everything is different and she feels like an outsider. I liked seeing her, who has always been the one in control, in a more vulnerable position; however, I didn’t like her attitude, she shut down instead of talking to her sisters, which they always do, they’re the Song sisters! (I might have read that in the same tune as The Schyler Sisters)

Kitty, on the other hand, has matured a lot. Time has passed since we first met Kitty in the first book and that is shown by how she behaves and reacts to things. My main complain about Kitty was that she either acted too childish or too matured, and I think I saw a better balance in this book, which I appreciated.

We also see more of Lara Jean outside of her family, we see her at school, we see her hanging out with her friends, cooking. I also mentioned in my review for PS I Still Love You that I wanted to see more of Lara Jean with other people, and I got that in this book. We also had more memories and stories about Lara Jean’s mum, and they were very nice and important for her. They helped her move forward and make some decisions.

If I had to point out something negative about the book, I would only be ale to mention one thing, and that is that the book does not have a storyline per se; it’s another chapter of Lara Jean’s life, of her story. The first half of the book I was expecting some twists or turns, something that would shape out the rest of the book, and even though things happen in this book, it’s more about her adventures than some crazy and established storyline. That being said, it was an interesting period of her life to explore (though I still want another book please) and I liked the different issues it brought. Another thing I enjoyed was more Korean culture and mentions of their Korean family.

30312860

I would also like to mention a couple of things that might contain spoilers for the previous books. The way PS I Still Love You ended, we knew Lara Jean and Peter were again the sweet couple they have always been and when I said the book was full of cute moments, I was talking about Peter. He is so sweet and generous and thoughtful that I loved him even more in this book. I was so happy and proud and moved at how he treated Lara Jean, and how she treated him, And something which might be weird but I wanted to point out is how sex is depicted. I will not go into details because I don’t want to spoil anything but I appreciate it.

One common plot for contemporaries is another person coming into the picture and causing problems between our two lovebirds; and we had that in the previous book, we did not need go through that again. There are other obstacles in relationships and I liked how their biggest obstacle in this book was not another Gen or another Josh or John. That is why I said I was both happy and surprised when I saw no big storylines in this book was because I did not want them to use the same plot device.

Did I enjoy the last book in the Lara Jean series? YOU BET I DID! I would say it’s a satisfying ending for the series, because it is, but I also want more of Lara Jean and Peter. Would I recommend it? Of course, especially if you liked the other books in the series, you will love this one. As I said, it’s a treat for the fans.


Have you read Always and Forever Lara Jean? Do you agree with me? If you haven’t, have you read the other books? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

