TTT: Best Books I Read in 2017 So Far

toptentuesdayCreated by The Broke and the Bookish

The topic for this week is: Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far. I like playing by the rules, I really do, even though I am great at finding loopholes and this time is no different. I would feel odd doing a normal top ten this week, given that I have read 20 books and some are from the same series. In the title of the prompt it doesn’t say “ten” (I know, I know, its top TEN tuesday) so I thought I would do top 3.

Before writing this list, I knew it would be very difficult because even though I have enjoyed the majority of books I have read until now, they’re not “favourite” material, you know what I mean? I am always hesitant about doing favourites lists, “favourite” is a big word and when I’m looking for those from the options that I have, I cannot find any (I feel as everyone has great picks and then there’s me, grasping at straws). One book clearly belongs in that category but the others have a reason behind my chosing, apart from me really liking it, which I will explain.

30312860

 

  • Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Of course it had to be here. If you have read my review, you know how much I loved it. It’s sweet and a perfect ending to Lara Jean’s story. I was both excited and hesitant to read it because I did not want it to end, but I enjoyed every part of it and I am so happy I decided to read it.

  • Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

28186I read this book twice before and I remembered I was a bit disappointed with it and found the story to be slower than the one in the first book. However, this time I had a great time and did not think it was hard to get into at all. I love the characters and the world that Rick Riordan has created. I really like mythology, and it is fantastic to see a book that incorporates it so well into the modern world, apart from making you want to discover more about it. It’s both fun and educative, so yay!

  • The Amateurs by Sara Shepard

24974965

In this case, I was not sure about the genre of this book, and that played an important part on why I included it on this list. Even though I love TV shows and movies with some mystery or thriller in it, I do not particulally like those that are only focused on that. And, apart from some Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle, I have not read any mystery books. But given how I like the The Lying Game and Pretty Little Liars tv shows (they incorporate other elements, maybe that is why I like them) I decided to try reading a book by that author, given that it would have the same elements but mixed together with tohers and I was surprised to see that the result was good. As mentioned, Sara Shepard books have a focus on mystery and crime solving, but they’re more than that, so I was not bored or disliked that aspect of the book.

Since I had originally planned a top 5, here are my next two options, though I will not comment as much on them.

  • The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

Childhood classic I never knew growing up. I picked the first one up in January and was surprised with what I found. Not the best book but very entertaining and fun.

  • Twisted Palace by Erin Watt

I thought this was the last book in The Royals series, and just before I read it I discovered there were two more books in the series! However, those two are focused on another character, so I still consider it an ending, and endings are always special.


What are the best books you have read so far this years? Have you read any of mine?

11 thoughts on “TTT: Best Books I Read in 2017 So Far

  1. Lois says:

    You can’t go wrong with a Percy Jackson book. I must admit Sea of Monsters isn’t my favourite but it’s still fun and enjoyable. It’s a perfect book to help you get out a slump.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      I remember books 2 and 3 being the slowest ones for me, so I was not sure how much I would enjoy it this time, but it surprised me a lot 🙂
      And I agree they’re great to make you get back into reading. Cannot wait to continue with the series.
      Thanks for stopping by, Lois.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana Prince Reviews says:

    I haven’t seen Always and Forever, Lara Jean on very many lists for this week, but I loved it so much and it was such a delightful, unexpected treat of a read. If you live in the US, the Target edition has a playlist and 3 recipes in the back (they are all fantastic) so I highly recommend picking up that copy if you can! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      It kinda surprised me too it wasn’t in many lists. I guess contemporaries do not get that recognition maybe? But it was amazing; I couldn’t stop smiling the whole time because it made me so happy.
      And no, sadly I don’t live in the US, my edition is the normal one, but I am so jealous! I hope it includes the recipe for her chocolate cookies hahahhaa

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

