Halloween Read-a-thon & TBR

If you know me, you know I do not do horror. I am scared of everything and even though I enjoy the Halloween festivities, I do not watch horror movies or read spooky books. However, when I saw that Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews made a read-a-thon, I had to try and participate in it!

Here are some guidelines for the read-a-thon:

🎃 It runs from October 10th to October 31st
🎃 All books have to include a supernatural element or be a horror, thriller
🎃 You can use the same book to complete different challenges
🎃 Challenges are optional (but fun!)
🎃 To share and get in all the fun, use #HalloweenWR on social media

giveawaydetails🎃 It is hosted by Lauren (I’m just sharing)
🎃 You can join from September 26th to October 30th
🎃 You have to take part in the read-a-thon to participate (just post your TBR)
🎃 International as long as Book Depository ships to you
🎃 Price is any books (horror, thriller or paranormal) valued up to $20AUD

The giveaway opens on the 26th September and closes on the 30th October.

challenges

This is an extra element, but what makes all read-a-thons more exciting!

Some of the books I have chosen apply to various challenges, yet I will attempt to read different ones. Key word: attempt. If I do not manage to do so, I will use the same book for two challenges but I will try not to. By adding different books in my TBR, I hope to have more choices to pick from depending on what I wanna read.

costume-party

🎃 Costume Party: creepy cover. If you think the cover is creepy for whatever reason, go for it!

13047090

Oblivion  by Jennfier L. Armentrout. I have just finished Obsidian recently and I had a great time with it! When I read those books for the first time, I left the last one unread (shocker) so I wanted to revisit the world and complete the series. Even though I only planned on reading the first book this month, I have an excuse to continue with them this month thanks to the read-a-thon. I was not sure when to read Oblivion, which is the POV of Daemon from what happened in Obsidian, because I read it was also about Onyx and Opal but upon further investigation, I realized Oblivion has all those books from Daemon’s POV, but separated, so I will only be reading the first part, which will be Obsidian.

Some people might not consider this cover creepy, and it is not the creepiest I have seen but there is something about his pose, the colours, and knowing how Daemon is at the beginning of Obsidian and how he acts that does say creepy to me.

haunted-house

🎃33785202 Haunted House: Supernatural or paranormal (ghosts, vampires, witches, werewolves…)

These first two challenges are the ones where I could find more books from my TBR, but I decided I would go with The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding by Alexandra Bracken. I still haven’t read any reviews about it and I have not read anything else by the author but as I mentioned in a WoW post, I am very intrigued about this one, plus it’s a middle grade novel, which I wanted to read more from.

urban-legends

🎃 Urban Legends: horror or thriller. Books where real people are the scary ones.

I will not be doing this challenge, for I do not read any horror or thriller books. I can only think of a couple of books on my TBR in this list, but I do not intend on reading them soon.

witching-hour

🎃 Witching House: read a book ater sunset. As Lauren mentions, the witching hour is technically between 3am and 4am, but reading at night still counts.

13362536I always read at night (and I’m sure it’s 3am somewhere in the world when I do so bonus points?) but the way I see this challenge is that the book chosen has to be read entirely at night. Lauren said we can twist challenges to fit our needs and even though I would not need to, I felt this was super helpful!

At first I wanted to go with a graphic novel, which I could read entirely in one night but I even though I love them, I would not count them towards any other challenges on my blog and I would not feel good adding it here. Then I thought about reading Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and even though it is a novella, I will be including it in my TBR. I was a bit hesitant because I was not sure when I should read it but it seems safe after Obsidian.

EDIT: I finished what I intended to read before the read-a-thon two days before it started so I will be reading Shadows, which I can finish before the 10th and instead read Onyx for this prompt.

scarymovie

🎃 Scary movie: watch a horror movie.

As I said, I don’t watch horror movies, so I will go back to some classics I have enjoyed before, like A Nightmare Before Christmas (does that count), Corpse Bride or Beetlejuice.

trick-or-treat

20443235🎃 Trick or treat: free choice about a book you’ve been putting off or a book from a diferent genre

You should choose one of those, but I will be doing both with the same book, which will be The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski. I haven’t been putting it off for a long time; I read the first two later last year and instead of reading the last book too, I just didn’t. I got a physical copy last month and I wanted to read it before the end of the year, so I’m gonna go with that one.

read7books

🎃 All Hallows Eve: read seven books

I will not be attempting this one either. I wish I was able to read seven books, and given the lenght of the read-a-thon, it could be done, but I do not want to stress about it.


As you can see, I will participate in 5 out of 7 challenges, which is not bad. I might be a bit too optimistic with my TBR but I am happy completing even half of those, so let’s see how I do, shall we? You can all place your bets!

Be sure to check out Lauren’s post, where she explains everything better, and join in the spookyness.


Are you participating? Which books will you read? Have you read any of mine?

10 thoughts on “Halloween Read-a-thon & TBR

    • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

      Thank you, so happy you like it! I have just finished Obsidian and I was so hooked! I need to continue now but I will be strong and wait hahahah I am still not sure when to read Shadows but I know I will be reading Olivion for sure 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

